Real life one bag travel – 4 Reasons why I’m obsessed with packing light

Hi Frugalistas!

Regular readers will know that I have a bit of an obsession with packing light and only taking one carry on bag regardless of where  I’m going.  If I haven’t convinced you up till now, here are 4 reasons why I think that packing light is the only way to travel:

1.  You get out of the airport before everyone else on your flight

I don’t know anyone who travels so they can spend ages in the airport.  The more you’ve got to wait for at the baggage carousel, the longer you wait…..when you could be beginning your adventure or at least ahead of the queue at the taxi rank or train station!  I love being out of the airport before the first class bags are even off the carousel – to me that’s true first class!

Imagine how long Joan waits at the carousel for all of this!

2.  It can save you money

Traveling with just one carry on bag means you can save money in all sorts of ways that you just can’t do with large amounts of luggage.  Not needing porters, not needing taxis, and being able to get from place to place by public transport are all easy ways to save money, and are just not possible with large, heavy pieces of luggage.

In many countries, especially in Europe, cheaper hotel rooms can be very small.  A carry on size bag fits easily into all but the tiniest of hotel rooms or hostel dorms.  It’s nice not to have worry about whether your bag will fit, or whether you need to book a bigger (and therefore more expensive) room just to fit your luggage in!  Cheaper hotels rarely have porters or other staff to help you with your luggage, so you need to be able to manage your bags to and from your room.

Low cost airlines also become more of an option – depending on their charges for luggage of course.

3.  If you go a bit crazy in the shops, you’ve still got some slack in your luggage allowance

Accidents do happen, and sometimes they happen in shops.  If you’ve used up your luggage allowance before you even start on your journey you not only run out of room in your bags, but on paying excess baggage charges if you do buy a bit more than you had in mind.  If you pack light to start with, you have the flexibility to increase your luggage capacity without the pain of excess baggage or of having so much luggage you can’t manage it.

4.  The less stuff you have the easier it is to keep track of it

If you are only traveling with a small bag and minimal stuff it is so much easier to pack and repack, as well as making it easier to identify if you’ve left anything behind (before you forget it completely).  If you’ve only got two pairs of pants you’re hardly likely to lose them!

hhhmm, who’s having fun?

So, there it is.  Why I like to pack light, in four easy steps.  No excuses from now on – unless you think you are Joan Collins!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

19 Comments on “Real life one bag travel – 4 Reasons why I’m obsessed with packing light”

  1. Pretraveller 07/07/2012 at 10:05 pm #

    Carry on only is great if you can manage it. I still have fond memories of my first overseas trip to Europe where I took a carry on sized backpack. It was so easy to get around. I saw others with 80 litre packs and they were like turtles…

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 08/07/2012 at 7:08 am #

      Yes I agree. It doesn’t matter what you carry, it just needs to be small!

      Thanks for dropping by!

  2. yanghoyun 09/07/2012 at 10:23 am #

    I am three days into my two week trip with my ultralight pack. You were right, I can’t imagine going back to travelling with a suitcase!!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 09/07/2012 at 10:58 am #

      I travel with a suitcase, but it’s a tiny carryon size one!

      Good to see another pack light convert – thanks for letting me know!

  3. efangelist 30/07/2012 at 11:00 am #

    Love your site and your motto! Looking forward to your future posts. Even thinking about travelling gets me feeling good. Tony from Taking Care of Business Travel.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 30/07/2012 at 6:36 pm #

      Thank you so much. That’s very, very kind of you. Have got lots of good things coming up, so help you continue to enjoy!

  4. Kostas Panagakis 22/08/2012 at 11:38 pm #

    Could not agree more with you. Liked your blog a lot!

  5. Katja 16/09/2012 at 10:15 am #

    Joan Collins goes to the airline lounge and enjoys a complimentary beverage while her minions fetch the luggage…

  6. Holiday Addict 21/09/2012 at 3:48 am #

    Can you come and pack for me? Sounds like you could teach me a lot, especially considering I recently wrote about my obsession for taking unnecessary pairs of shoes with me on my travels. Not good.

    Am enjoying your blog!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 21/09/2012 at 8:14 am #

      How sweet! Shoes are a girls’ best friend, but the definite enemy of savvy travellers!

      I will be publishing my packing tip posts into a handy ebook very shortly – stay tuned so you can download it for free.
      Thanks for dropping by and for the kind words.

  7. TN 14/11/2012 at 6:21 pm #

    The comment about Joan is silly – if you fly first class, your bags are tagged priority and are always the first bags to be unloaded. Joan doesn’t have to wait at all.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 14/11/2012 at 7:12 pm #

      If you check luggage you have to wait for it to come off – regardless of the class you fly and regardless of who you are. The point I was trying to make (and obviously not explaining well) is that if you pack light and don’t need to check your luggage you beat everyone out of the airport.

      Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment.

  8. frugalfirstclasstravel 20/09/2012 at 8:32 am #

    Thanks for adding my post to your blog. Really appreciate it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Too much baggage « bluedeckshoe.com - 20/09/2012

    […] 4 Reasons why I’m obsessed with packing light (frugalfirstclasstravel.com) […]

  2. The 2012 frugalfirstclasstravel year in review – my top 10 blog posts | frugalfirstclasstravel - 31/12/2012

    […] I refer to this as “The Joan Collins Packing Post”.  Found out here why. […]

  3. The Secret to Packing the Perfect Carry-On Bag : Travelpro Luggage Blog - 08/03/2013

    […] 4 Reasons why I’m obsessed with packing light (frugalfirstclasstravel.com) […]

  4. Real life one bag travel – my packing list for spring in Europe | frugalfirstclasstravel - 13/04/2013

    […] Why I love packing light […]

Leave a Reply

