Tapas in Barcelona – a photo review

Hi Frugalistas!

Spain is synonymous with tapas, and in Barcelona recently it was pretty much all I ate.  I love the idea of little plates of lots of different flavors and taste experiences – it’s a great way to try many different things without going broke or ending up the size of a whale!

Fresh anchovy and a glass of the local cava rose

Fresh anchovy and a glass of the local cava rose

A noodle paella - salty like the sea

A noodle paella – salty like the sea

A chickpea, chorizo and tripe stew - spicy and delicious

A chickpea, chorizo and tripe stew – spicy and delicious

Mushroom brochette served in brioche

Mushroom brochette served in brioche

Cheese, tomato and olive salad

Cheese, tomato and olive salad

Mini chorizos

Mini chorizos

Local anchovies and olives

Local anchovies and olives

I know, churros and chocolate isn't a tapas, but what else would you finish with in Spain?

I know, churros and chocolate isn’t a tapas, but what else would you finish with in Spain?

Tapas are just the way I like to eat when I’m traveling – local ingredients, made into tasty local dishes, served in a traditional style, and at a great price!

Tags: , , , , ,

14 Comments on “Tapas in Barcelona – a photo review”

  1. Angela 16/12/2012 at 10:17 pm #

    The mushroom brochette looks mouthwatering!

  2. Paz 16/12/2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Hungry just looking…..lol Nice work
    I use barcelona-restaurants dot com when we are eating out. Its actually great for finding nice little tapas bars and for some reason there always seems to be big offers, 30% off etc if I book that way yet I can’t get a discount if I arrive on spec.. so can recommend that.
    I’m still addicted to a simply good Tortilla after all these years 🙂

  3. Britt Skrabanek 17/12/2012 at 3:05 am #

    Yum all the way down that scroll of images! Churros and chocolate sounds like a dream come true.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 17/12/2012 at 6:23 am #

      I’d never had it before and went to a little old fashioned place down a laneway recommended by my guidebook. The chocolate was incredibly thick and not at all sweet. The churros were crisp on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside – and still warm from the fryer. A great combination!

      • Britt Skrabanek 17/12/2012 at 10:47 am #

        I’m jealous. Makes me want to pack my bag right now and hunt down that little old place. More than anything, I want to hug them for even thinking of putting those two delightful desserts together.

  4. Freya 21/12/2012 at 7:36 am #

    omg I’m really hungry now, I love tapas and these look just delicious

  5. flaneriefeminine 22/12/2012 at 7:45 pm #

    The cheese, tomato, and olive salad looks great!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 22/12/2012 at 7:48 pm #

      It was – really light and fresh – cut through the fatty chorizos!

      • flaneriefeminine 22/12/2012 at 7:49 pm #

        Haha, I can only comment on the salad, as I’ve been a veggie since the age of 17! 😉

        Happy holidays!

  6. frugalfirstclasstravel 11/02/2013 at 6:10 am #

    Thanks for adding my post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tapas Take Two « pure provender - 11/02/2013

    […] Tapas in Barcelona – a photo review […]

  2. frugalfirstclasstravel guides – a short guide to Barcelona | frugalfirstclasstravel - 05/03/2013

    […] Tapas in Barcelona in pictures […]

Leave a Reply

