My 2013 new years not-resolutions……

Hi Frugalistas!

I’m not one for new years resolutions – in fact I never make them in my day to day life.  While the following are definitely not my new years resolutions, there are a few things I really want to achieve or that I want to do differently in 2013:

1.  I want to learn from my previous travel experiences and not be afraid to change the way I do things

I don’t know about you, but every time I travel I learn more about traveling and about what I like to do when I’m traveling.  I’ve been reflecting on my lessons learned and what I really like to do.  That means trying to pack even lighter, more waterside locations, more train trips, more markets and more cooking school restaurant meals.

I'm putting more water on my list for 2013

I’m putting more water on my list for 2013

2.  Take even less stuff

Following on from point 1, I want to pack even lighter.  I’ve bought myself an even smaller bag to force myself to achieve this – and I’ve got a refined packing strategy (see point 3 below).

My current carry on bag is being replaced by an even smaller one - with a new packing strategy of course!

My current carry on bag is being replaced by an even smaller one – with a new packing strategy of course!

3.  Don’t pack bulky items – even if it is my new favourite item of clothing

My basic packing list will remain the same, but the exact items will change.  Just  before I went to Europe last April I bought myself the most fabulous jacket – I was in love with it and I knew I would be able to wear it in Europe on my trip.  So I packed it.  Problem was it was bulky and took up far more room in my bag than it should have.  I did wear it but it really didn’t justify the amount of room it took up.  From now on it’s light knits and smaller, less bulky jackets.

I’m also giving up paperbacks in favour of ebooks.  I take an iPad with a Kindle on it anyway, so with my new “take even less stuff” mantra, paperbacks will be read at home rather than on the road!

I'm only packing smaller, lighter things as part of my new packing strategy

I’m only packing smaller, lighter things as part of my new packing strategy

4.  Only book places with free WiFi

One of my travel misses from 2012 was the cost of WiFi.  While it doesn’t necessarily cost a lot in each place, across an entire trip the costs do add up.  I’d rather use the money for a special treat or to eat at a better restaurant rather than on something that is basically a commodity now.

I'm not paying for WiFi this year - I'd rather pay for a great meal instead

I’m not paying for WiFi this year – I’d rather pay for a great meal instead

5.  Not to judge the way others travel

It’s easy to be judgmental of others isn’t it, even in normal, everyday life.  Travel is no exception.  When I see people struggling with heavy, overstuffed cases or being herded around major tourist sites following the held-high umbrella it is easy to look down one’s nose and feel a bit superior.  But, it’s actually not my perogative to do so, is it?  Just as I like to spend my money doing what I want to do the way I want I want to do it, other people do the same.  Not everyone has the time or interest to put the effort into planning a trip the way I do, nor does everyone have the confidence I do to organise and travel the way I do.  It’s their money to spend as they wish – and bravo to them for spending it on such an enriching, educational and sensory feast as traveling!

img050

What are your travel resolutions for 2013?

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 Comments on “My 2013 new years not-resolutions……”

  1. Lynne 04/01/2013 at 10:22 pm #

    Great goals for the coming year! Thank you for sharing them. I especially need to heed #5. And #2 & #3 are something we all could benefit from, thanks.
    In 2013 I endeavor to be more active and improve my health so that I can travel again. Currently, I am disabled due to a knee injury and cannot walk long distances without pain. This has seriously cramped our family’s travel plans in the last quarter of 2012. No worries though — I’m on the mend.

  2. Erica Hargreave @ Roamancing 05/01/2013 at 6:12 am #

    For someone that doesn’t make resolutions, these are fabulous resolutions.

  3. Freya 06/01/2013 at 9:37 pm #

    great resolutions ! I need to work a bit more on 2 and 4 as well 🙂

  4. Pretraveller 07/01/2013 at 6:57 am #

    Jo, best of luck with your resolutions! I also sometimes struggle with no 2,4 and 5!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 07/01/2013 at 8:52 am #

      Thanks Anne. I think 2 and 4 are definitely winning so far – good thing is we’ve got control over both of them!

  5. Anita Mac 25/01/2013 at 3:57 am #

    I am with you on the not paying for WiFi! A glass of wine or a cup a tea….that is how I prefer to pay for my WiFi.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 25/01/2013 at 7:07 am #

      Perhaps one day they’ll realise that it is no different to television or hot water and build the cost into the room rate……

  6. Andy 23/02/2013 at 6:19 pm #

    Great list! I can definitely agree with a number of these points, namely 1, 2, and 4, all right all of them. But I think people should be open and flexible to making changes in their travel itinerary. Also, why would you pay for Wi-fi when you get it for free?? Glad to connect!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 23/02/2013 at 6:34 pm #

      Same here, Andy! Thanks for dropping by. I live for the day whenWiFi is treated like hot water, and just comes as part of the deal. It really is my greatest travel peeve (maybe apart from bag nazis at the check in. See my Cathay Pacific review for further details….)

  7. MMAndamon 04/03/2013 at 11:07 pm #

    I’m for #1 and definitely #2 :-). Don’t get me started with #3. In my previous trip to Europe, I packed my pretty and shiny gumboots which was great for the trails at Nueschvanstein, Rothenburg and wet Paris but it was rather bulky!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 05/03/2013 at 6:23 am #

      Yes, boots are fabulously practical to wear in the winter, but are definitely dreadful to pack. I have a pair of light ankle boots that I wear on the plane, but they’re definitely not as ‘on trend’ as your choice!

Leave a Reply

