Happy Birthday frugalfirstclasstravel!

Hi Frugalistas!

My baby is one year old today.  My first “proper” post was a year ago on 25 February 2012. 

When you start a blog you wonder if anyone is going to read it – well about 25 000 of you did over the past 12months.  So a big thank you!

When you start a blog you wonder if anyone will like it (assuming anyone reads it!) – after about 450 comments and a stack of “likes” that I haven’t counted, I think the answer is, “yes, you do”.  So another big thank you!  And thank you to the hecklers for staying away so I haven’t had to Trash you or defend myself.

When you start a blog you wonder if everyone else who writes blogs feels as lonely as you and wants to connect with other bloggers.  I started out knowing no other bloggers in the whole world.  Now I know hundreds of you.  And without exception, I love your work.

I love that I am part of bigger community of engaged, entertaining and welcoming people, all doing what we love (writing) about what we love (travel).  I feel very grateful for every link that anyone has ever put on their blog for frugalfirstclasstravel, and I love that I can return the favour to you.

I spent a lot of time on my end of 2012 posts writing about my most popular posts, my lessons learned and a whole heap of other things can I could just rehash here.  But I’m not.  Instead, I’m going to say one final BIG THANK YOU to everyone who has ever read, liked or commented on my blog.  Also to anyone who has tweeted, shared on Facebook or Stumbled my work.  And also to everyone who has ever put a link to my site on their own site – to me, that is the ultimate compliment.

So, Happy Birthday frugalfirstclasstravel!  Your Mum is very proud of what you are becoming…….

Tags: , , , , ,

18 Comments on “Happy Birthday frugalfirstclasstravel!”

  1. Geek Goddess 25/02/2013 at 2:44 pm #

    And thank you back. I’ve learned a lot, and feel like I have a new friend.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 25/02/2013 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks Naomi. Likewise – your blog has opened up a whole new world to me! (Texas diner meal anyone?)

  2. Josh 25/02/2013 at 3:20 pm #

    I’ve only been subscribed a short time, but love your blog 🙂 Congratulations, and I look forward to reading more about your travels! (and how they can improve my own!!)

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 25/02/2013 at 3:29 pm #

      Thanks Josh, much appreciated. I enjoy your input into the facebook page (which is nowhere near one year old!) particularly.

      • Josh 25/02/2013 at 3:46 pm #

        Anytime! I will look for anymore great pictures to inspire everyone 🙂 p.s. do you know of a website like lonelyplanet or tripadvisor that lets you save the places you’d like to visit? i’m keen to setup a true itinerary for this years European adventure! Whilst i’m hesitant to plan every minute of every day, i’d really like to be in control of what I can and can’t see this year! 🙂 (sorry to take over your Birthday blog post!)

      • frugalfirstclasstravel 25/02/2013 at 7:05 pm #

        Depending on what you want: Pinterest let’s you put photos, etc onto a website, Tripit is more of an itinerary builder based on your bookings. I also found a website called Plnnr.com that looks like it builds an itinerary around what you want to do. I don’t know it personally (I use the other 2), but it looks really interesting, and might be what you had in mind.

        I don’t mind the questions – it all adds to the collective wisdom, and that’s an important part of the community

  3. Anita Mac 25/02/2013 at 7:03 pm #

    It has been great to meet you through our blogs and twitter chats! Congrats on your 1st of many birthdays!!! Hip Hip Hourray!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 25/02/2013 at 7:09 pm #

      Same here ‘Neet’! Thanks for your kind wishes. I initially ‘found’ you when you were doing your Camino series and was truly inspired – I will do it one day when I can get enough time to do it justice. I found many of the blogs I read an inspiration.

  4. Peter Behringer 26/02/2013 at 10:09 am #

    Congrats to a proud MOM…keep up the great work! “see” you on Twitter and thanks for the RTs and sharing….

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 26/02/2013 at 12:16 pm #

      Thanks Peter! I’m Australian, which makes me definitely a Mum, rather than a Mom. Really appreciate your support.

  5. whisper 26/02/2013 at 12:48 pm #

    Very much enjoy your blog and big #1 birthday wishes. Well Done!

  6. Aussie in France (@AussieFrance) 27/02/2013 at 3:50 am #

    Congratulations on your first birthday! I can, of course, emphathise totally. Writing a blog requires a lot of commitment, but connecting up with readers and other bloggers makes it totally worth it! I look forward to featuring many more of your posts.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 27/02/2013 at 6:27 am #

      Thanks so much Rosemary, and thanks also for featuring my itinerary planning post on your blog. Very kind of you.

  7. sahowell 27/02/2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Congrats! I have just recently started reading your blog, but have already found many helpful tips. Thanks!

  8. MMAndamon 28/02/2013 at 10:54 pm #

    Congratulations! I enjoy your blog very much – wonderful resource of travel tips. Glad to have met you here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

