Capture the colour photo essay

Hi Frugalistas!
Regular readers will know I’m not a fan of chain posts, but I I was thrilled to be invited by my great blog buddy and partner in crime TurnipseedsTravel to join  in Travel Supermarket‘s annual Capture the Color photo essay.
This is an easy contest – post five photos that capture the mood of five different colours, and fingers crossed, win a lovely price!  Then I get to nominate five fellow bloggers to enter the contest.

So here are my offerings:

Yellow

IMG_1320

Canary Wharf – how much more yellow do you want?

I don’t know if it’s part of the rules, but being an anti-establishment Aussie, and it being a British contest, I’m going metaphorical and ironic with my yellow choice – Number1 Canary Wharf in the heart of the London Docklands.  It’s the most “yellow” place I’ve been to lately, and even though the weather didn’t fit the mood, the name is unbeatable.

Red

For my red choice, I’m going more sombre and traditional.  Visiting the Gothic Cathedral in Barcelona I happened across an altar in memory of the nuns and priests killed during the Spanish Civil War.  While I’m not at all religious, one of my travel rituals is to light a candle at any church I visit.  I chose this sanctuary especially to leave my candle.  The photo is my candle, simply adorning the stark the alter.  It makes a stark contrast to the riotous Sagrada Familia of Gaudi, and even of the fun of the geese who guard the cathedral.

My candle at the Barcelona Gothic Cathedral

My candle at the Barcelona Gothic Cathedral

 

Green

It’s spring in Australia, and today happened to be the first time I saw local fresh asparagus for sale in the supermarket.  What says green more than fresh, seasonal, vegetables, ready to be eaten?

My fresh, seasonal asparagus, ready for a light steam - spring on a plate!

My fresh, seasonal asparagus, ready for a light steam – spring on a plate!

 

White

I struggled with what to do with white.  I have a lot of “white” photos and it means a lot of things, and captures many different moods.  The obvious choice was to choose something from a winter trip to Germany – snow, and winter wonderland fun.  The other obvious choice was the simplicity of a white flower enjoying its day in the sun.  In the end I’ve gone for the sadness of white……one of the Commonwealth War Graves Cemeteries of World War One fallen soldiers near Ypres in Belgium.  White as the loss of youth, as the contrast to blood, as brightness in the sun despite such despair.  As an Australian that day was one of the most moving days I’ve ever had traveling in Europe, and it is the white headstones glinting in the sunshine as birds twittered that I remember most……

Simple white headstones of Commonwealth war dead.  White is not always a cheery colour

Simple white headstones of Commonwealth war dead. White is not always a cheery colour

 

Blue

This is one of my very favorite photos, so I had to include it.  Saumur in the twilight, with everything bathed in blue light.  Street lights reflecting and adding a stunning contrast.

Saumur in the blue twilight

Saumur in the blue twilight

So, now it’s my turn to nominate some fellow bloggers to Capture the Colour.  I’m calling on:

My fellow Sydney bloggers, Anne at Pretraveller and  the Budget Wanderers at Budget Wanderers

The ever controversial and fun Naomi of Two Different Girls

John Pilkington at Continental Breakfast

And at A World To Travel

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments on “Capture the colour photo essay”

  1. Pretraveller 14/09/2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Jo, thanks for the invitation. I will have to have a look at our photo collection and see if I can come up with an entry!

  2. Geek Goddess 14/09/2013 at 9:13 pm #

    I’m controversial? What did I do?

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 14/09/2013 at 9:22 pm #

      In the nicest possible way!! At the risk of upsetting all my other American readers, you see life through very non-American eyes – and I love it!

      • Geek Goddess 14/09/2013 at 9:41 pm #

        Haha. I think I’m typical American, with the Texas prospective. Thank you!

  3. Kellie (Destination Unknown) 16/09/2013 at 11:03 pm #

    Being an Aussie in London, I can relate to a few of the reasons you selected these photos!!

    My favourite is your “blue” – great night capture.

    Good luck 🙂

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 17/09/2013 at 6:42 am #

      Thank you! Yes, my little point and shoot, unfiltered blue shot of Saumur came out well.

      I don’t care about winning a prize (but it would be nice!) I just enjoyed the exercise.

  4. jpilkington09 30/09/2013 at 3:06 am #

    What a great competition – thanks for the nomination! Some lovely photos, particularly ‘red’. Very striking, very moving.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 30/09/2013 at 5:36 pm #

      Thanks. I’m only a happy snapper so I tried to go for meaning rather than technical brilliance!

      Happy to nominate you, cos I know you’ve got some really fab photos to share!

  5. We Are Travellers 12/10/2013 at 7:18 am #

    Nice post! I especially like your last picture.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I’ve been doing this week – visiting the David Jones flower show | frugalfirstclasstravel - 16/09/2013

    […] been inspired by my last “Capture the Colour” post, so I’m featuring more colour!  This time, I’m presenting you with my take on the […]

  2. Capture the colour competition 2013 | Continental Breakfast - 30/09/2013

    […] taken part in anything like this before, but after being kindly nominated by Jo Karnaghan of Frugal First-class Travel, I thought I’d give it a go. Capture the colour is an annual competition from […]

Leave a Reply

