Three great new shopping streets in Paris

Hi Frugalistas!

When visiting Paris recently, I was keen to get out and discover some new places and experiences – all about making familiar Paris seem brand new.  Part of that was exploring some new and different shopping experiences.  I found three great shopping streets I’d never visited before that I’d love to share with you.  Whether you are a serious shopper or just love a bit of lecher la vitrine (window shopping), I hope you find my finds as interesting as I did:

Ave de Daumesnil

Great temptations at Les Bonheurs des Dames

Great temptations at Les Bonheurs des Dames

Ave de Daumesnil is in the 12th arrondisement about 7minutes walk from the Bastille, and just tucked in behind the Bastille Opera.  It’s a slightly seedy neighbourhood, and not at all touristy, but in a restored viaduct sits shop after shop of the most amazing artisan goods.  It is the home of my favorite shop in Paris, Les Bonheur des Dames, a fabulous needlework shop, selling their original, very French cross stitch, needlework and quilting kits.  Other interesting shops include one that sells one off jackets made from left over couture fabrics – I love the idea of a one off jacket made of such a luxury fabric but at a fraction of the cost! (A jacket I could see from the window was EUR200), a shop that just sold umbrellas and walking sticks and another shop that sold brass and metal goods – everything from door knobs to lovely earrings.

IMG_2051

Village St Paul

A pretty sign in Village St Paul

A pretty sign in Village St Paul

Village St Paul is in the Marais, running between the Seine and rue Saint-Antoine.  The Village itself is a cluster of shops on the street and within a number of courtyards.  Brocantes (flea markets) and antique shops rule here, selling everything from old locks and keys, to furniture to ephemera.  When I arrived on a Saturday morning, a brocante market was being set up in the courtyards.  I found a stall selling fabulous antique French linens, and another that had two Louis Vuitton steamer trunks.  Away from the shops are some lovely old residential courtyards, with pretty buildings and gardens.  Village St Paul makes a really interesting Saturday morning wander.

Just one of the pretty gardens I found around Village St Paul

Just one of the pretty gardens I found around Village St Paul

Rue du Pont Louis Philippe

I found rue du Pont Louis Philippe (also in the Marais, just a few streets along from Village St Paul) when I was looking for a particular shop that sold paper goods (Melodies Graphiques, that I can also recommend for lovely notebooks, writing paper and writing implements.)  I had never heard of this street, but was delighted to discover what it had to offer.  I was particularly taken with a shop selling fine jewelery, and loved a shop that sold food from Provence – those calissons!  Wandering along the street, there was also some gorgeous architecture, including a wonderful looking restaurant that seemed to come straight out of the 19th century (at the end of the street near the Seine).

Gorgeous old restaurant on rue du Pont Louis Philippe

Gorgeous old restaurant on rue du Pont Louis Philippe

I really loved exploring these new parts of Paris, and even buying the odd item.  Whether you are buying or just looking, all are worth a look if you are in the neighbourhood, or like me, just looking for somewhere new to explore!

What Paris shopping streets do you love?  I’d love to discover even more new treasures!

Related posts:

Making a familiar place feel brand new

Making Paris feel brand new

Author’s disclosure:  I received a small discount when I shopped at Les Bonheur des Dames.  I have shopped there a number of times previously, so you know I wouldn’t talk about it if I didn’t love it!  I paid full price for all purchases made at Melodies Graphiques.

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Comments on “Three great new shopping streets in Paris”

  1. Pretraveller 23/10/2013 at 7:34 pm #

    Jo, thanks for sharing your new Parisian discoveries!

    One of the things I really love about Paris is the fact that it is made up of a series of smaller ‘villages’, each of which has their own character and special shops. I also love the fact that you find gardens everywhere you go which really add to the atmosphere.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 23/10/2013 at 8:34 pm #

      Yes, I love that too. I love the different vibes of each of the villages. Even in such a globalised shopping environment, it’s great you can still find out originals.

  2. Susan Walter 23/10/2013 at 8:26 pm #

    The shops under the viaduct in Avenue de Daumesnil are known as the Viaduc des Arts. There used to be a perfumerie there and a really upscale bathroom shop. I haven’t been for a while, so I don’t know if they are still there. I’ve been in the shop with all the door furniture though.

    • Susan Walter 23/10/2013 at 8:27 pm #

      PS Hit return too soon. The other really nice thing about the viaduc is the promenade plantée up above. A beautiful space to relax and walk.

      • frugalfirstclasstravel 23/10/2013 at 8:32 pm #

        Thanks for this, Susan. I didn’t know the shops had a name, or that you could walk up on the viaduct. The perfumerie isn’t there – I definitely would have noticed that!

        Thanks for giving some more info, and even more reason for people to check it out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Frugalfirstclasstravel guides – a short guide to Paris | frugalfirstclasstravel - 13/11/2013

    […] Three new shopping streets in Paris […]

Leave a Reply

