The frugalfirstclasstravel Friday files – 8 November 2013

Hi Frugalistas!

This week I’ve got a bit packing mad, with three great packing posts to feature.

Firstly it’s a gear review courtesy of Mary at Calculated Traveller.  Her very thorough review of the STM bags Impulse laptop backpack really gives the reader a great idea of what this backpack can deliver.

STM bags

I’m on a quest to travel by air with only one carry-on piece of luggage. Yes, it’s a challenge but do it once and you’ll wonder why you never did it before.  One way to cheat the system is to use a laptop backpack as your personal item. I still bring a small purse for use when I reach my destination but en route; I just use the entire purse as a wallet and stick it inside the laptop backpack.  Here’s the thing – you’ve got to have a backpack that isn’t too too big that it’s larger than your real carry-on….read on here….

Now it’s onto an other review courtesy of Yvonne at Under The Yew Tree who has found a truly ingenious scarf, that does triple duty as a scarf, a secret purse or a clutch.  I’m truly impressed, and might just give this one a try myself!  

TravelScarfClutchSholdIT

I have an acute obsession over accessories; My go-to souvenir when abroad has always been either a pair of earrings, a necklace or a handmade scarf. Over the years, I have accumulated a vast amount of accessories, most of which I hardly wear. I am actually the proud owner of over fifteen different scarves but often only wear two due to their versatility: my grey infinity scarf I picked up in Rio and a black scarf I picked up on sale at Club Monaco. These two scarves have been my go-to because they are fashionable, warm and have often transformed into my own private pillow on those long bus rides when abroad.  My motto has always been: versatility is KEY. When I came across, SHOLDIT®, I instantly fell in love. The owner of the company, Angela, has designed…Read more about this innovative packing winner here….

Finally, I’m featuring a post by my friend Anne from Pretraveller.  Anne’s done a great post looking at packing from four different angles by four different bloggers.  I was honoured to have my 5 packing mistakes post included in her post, but I’m featuring this post because of the great advice in the other three posts, knowing how much you love packing posts!  

pretraveller

I always aim to pack light for every trip.  But I rarely go on a trip where I feel that I have reached the packing light nirvana.  Many bloggers have written articles with packing light tips which can help you to aspire to the true freedom of travelling with minimal encumbrances.  Here are some different perspectives, ranging from more utilitarian approaches through to the fashionista approach to packing light!  Read more here……

What great packing ideas have you read this week?

Tags: , , ,

3 Comments on “The frugalfirstclasstravel Friday files – 8 November 2013”

  1. Mary Calculated Traveller 09/11/2013 at 1:52 am #

    Thanks for highlighting our article! Really do love that backpack. Also, I’ve been looking at that Sholdit for a while now and I’m going to get one…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The frugalfirstclasstravel Friday files – 15 November 2013 | frugalfirstclasstravel - 15/11/2013

    […] Friday files 8 November 2013 […]

Leave a Reply

