The frugalfirstclasstravel Friday files – 6 December 2013

Hi Frugalistas!
Saturday already, but while I’m late, there’s great blog posts on offer this week.
I’m delighted to feature Kiwi  bloggers the Flashpacker Family with a great post on how to save hundreds in flights using code share arrangements.  I love the idea of getting the exact flight I want, with my frequent flyer points included for less, just by using  code share arrangements – definitely a must try for my next trip!

Walking onto the plane knowing that you paid much less for your seat than everybody else on board is a great feeling. This is what smart travel is all about. By being a little crafter with your bookings you can stretch your travel dollars further.  Booking code share flights is a clever way to save cash. Here’s how it works:  Read on here….

Photo:  flashpackerfamily.com

Photo: flashpackerfamily.com

Then Mary, of Calculated Traveller encourages us to take a journey round our own neighbourhood.  The opportunities to enjoy great “travel” experiences in our own backyards are often forgotten, so its great that Mary has written about this.  As we enter the summer holidays here in Australia, I’ll be sure to take the time to explore and enjoy my neighbourhood, and my city.
Thornton Wilder has said: “When you’re safe at home you wish you were having an adventure; when you’re having an adventure you wish you were safe at home.” Makes sense, as we are human, after all. But, who’s to say that adventure only happens when you’re not at home and only on vacation? Not me! So, what’s the average girl (or guy), that works a 9 to 5 job, maybe has kids at home, do for a little adventure in their life? Read on…..
Photo:  calculatedtraveller.com

Photo: calculatedtraveller.com

Finally, regular readers will know I don’t write much about travel or life here in Australia.  I was therefore thrilled to be approached by Nyssa at The Cultureur to write a guest post for her on Australian foods.  I’ve come up with 15 foods, drinks and food experiences not to be missed here in Australia.  For those who know Australia, what would you include on your list?

Australian food. What’s that you say?  Australia doesn’t have a cuisine – according to many overseas food and travel bloggers.  My opinion is they just don’t look hard enough – Australia has a rich and vibrant food culture. Given our close proximity to Asia and our magnificent climate (perfect for growing so many things!), Australia has a food culture all of its own, fusing the best of our Anglo-Saxon origins with the traditions of our more recent migrants. It may not be as distinctive as other cultures but it still holds its ground.  Here are some of my favorites – look out for them next time you’re Down Under!….  What foods did I chose?  See here!

Photo:  this one is mine!

Photo: this one is mine!

Have a great week!
Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Comments on “The frugalfirstclasstravel Friday files – 6 December 2013”

  1. Bethaney - Flashpacker Family 07/12/2013 at 9:17 pm #

    Awesome! Thanks for sharing my little trick Jo. 🙂

    We did it again last week with a flight from Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. Got to fly with Singapore Airlines for less than the cost of flying on Air Asia. How’s that?

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 07/12/2013 at 9:21 pm #

      Well done, Bethaney! I love the idea of this. Saving money without missing out on any of the service is very frugalfirstclass!

      • flashpackerfamily 07/12/2013 at 9:35 pm #

        Exactly! And then connected to a lovely (and cheap) business class flight from Singapore to Brisbane on Etihad using another travel hacking trip I have.

      • frugalfirstclasstravel 08/12/2013 at 6:17 am #

        I hope you’ll be sharing that Etihad tip too. I love Etihad business class!

  2. Pretraveller 08/12/2013 at 1:07 pm #

    Jo, thanks for sharing a great range of articles with us! I really liked the first article on how to find code share flights to save money and all i can say is that I also love Australian food!

Leave a Reply

