Friday fotos – Ste Chapelle, Paris

Hi Frugalistas!

Regular readers will know that this post should be my weekly blogger update, the Friday Files.  I’ve decided to give the Friday Files column a rest over Christmas.  Instead, I’ll be taking the opportunity to share some of my special travel memories.

Today, it is the beautiful Gothic jewel that is St Chapelle in Paris.  Built as a chapel in the twelfth century, St Chapelle was completed in only 5 years time – unheard of at a time when Cathedrals and other grand buildings took anything up to 400 years to complete.  This gives St Chapelle a unity of style, design and decoration that is unmatched in any other Gothic structure.  Enjoy!

Until next week!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Comments on “Friday fotos – Ste Chapelle, Paris”

  1. Yesterday Unhinged 13/12/2013 at 1:54 pm #

    It’s a stunning place. I can’t wait to go back when I have more time to enjoy it.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 13/12/2013 at 1:58 pm #

      Yes, isn’t it? It’s one of my favorite places in Paris, but I hadn’t visited for many years, until recently. It was good to be reminded just how special it is.

  2. Lucy Dodsworth 17/12/2013 at 11:46 pm #

    Such a beautiful place, one of my Paris favourites. Apparently you can go and listen to the organ being played after the Sunday mass too which is supposed to be fabulous.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 18/12/2013 at 6:25 am #

      They also have a lot of concerts there of an evening. That would be really magical I think. It’s one of my favorites too Lucy. I hadn’t been for years, and had forgotten how beautiful it is.

Leave a Reply

