2013 – my favorite travel moments

Hi Frugalistas!

Well, another year draws to a close.  I have to say that for me it’s been a bit of mixed bag – health-wise I’ve been severely challenged (I almost didn’t make my big trip in October) and work is always a bit of challenge for those of us who dream of places far away…… Travel-wise though, it doesn’t get much better, so I’m delighted to be able to share some of my favorite travel moments from 2013!

Family travels – Coffs Harbour, Adelaide and Hamilton Island

I don’t write much about the travels I take with my family.  We started the year off as a family taking a trip up the north coast of New South Wales to Coffs Harbour.  Over the winter MissG and I took a short break to Adelaide to visit the pandas at Adelaide Zoo – one of MissG’s travel ambitions fulfilled!  Then to finish off, we spent a week of the September school holidays on Hamilton Island.  Hammo, as it is known by those in the know, was a great break for everyone.

Falling in love with the Cinque Terre

In April I finally got to fulfill one of my travel ambitions – I finally made it to the Cinque Terre in Italy!  It didn’t disappoint, and I loved pottering around the villages, taking loads of photos.  It’s a destination I thoroughly recommend if you are in Italy or the southeast of France.

My new travel love affair – Istanbul

I thought the Cinque Terre was going to be my travel highlight for 2013.  That was until I met what has become my new travel love affair – Istanbul.  While Paris is, and will always be, my spiritual home, it is Istanbul that really captured my heart this year.  I haven’t had the chance to share my Istanbul experiences as yet, so treat this photo montage as a taste of things to come!

What were your favorite travel memories of this year?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments on “2013 – my favorite travel moments”

  1. Renuka 30/12/2013 at 4:42 am #

    I guess, Turkey is the new enchantress. everybody seems to be going gaga over Istanbul. Your pictures say it all!

  2. Anne @ Pretraveller 30/12/2013 at 6:06 am #

    Jo, thanks for sharing your favourite parts of 2013. I send my support to you to regarding your health issues – I hope they are on the improve.

    I am also envious of your trip to Europe – I would LOVE to visit Istanbul. And go back to France and Italy. Hopefully it will happen but probably not for a while.

    I wish you all the best for a great 2014!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 30/12/2013 at 7:34 am #

      Thanks so much Anne. Definitely better now and am planning my next assault on Istanbul!

  3. Lucy Dodsworth 30/12/2013 at 11:55 pm #

    Happy new year! Here’s to health and happiness and lots more fantastic travels for 2014.

  4. Carolyn @ Holidays to Europe 31/12/2013 at 9:38 am #

    It’s great that you managed to fit in some ‘local’ holidays with family whilst also visiting Europe. I hope 2014 is a year of good health and happy travels for you.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 31/12/2013 at 11:27 am #

      Thanks Carolyn, and to you too! Mr frugalfirstclass isn’t quite as obsessed with Europe as me, so family holidays tend to be closer to home.

  5. MMAndamon 03/01/2014 at 9:47 pm #

    Wonderful montage of travel memories, Jo! Your experience in Istanbul, especially Hagia Sofia, certainly piqued my interest. Would love to visit this magnificent building someday. Happy New Year! Looking forward to more travel inspirations from you this 2014.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 04/01/2014 at 7:09 am #

      Thank you, that’s so kind. Hagia Sophia will be featured in an upcoming post. It’s a truly stunning building that I adored exploring.

Leave a Reply

