2013 – my top travel blog posts

Hi Frugalistas!

Happy New Year!  Thanks to you it’s been a bumper year on frugalfirstclasstravel.  I thank every single one of you for your support, and I love getting your feedback and comments.

Here are your favorite blog posts for 2013:

1.  Cathay Pacific Premium Economy Class Review

This was also my top post in 2012.  As I said back in 2012, I just wish it had been more positive!  I haven’t received any feedback to the contrary, so I can only assume my comments are still valid.

2.  My winter packing list

My top travel posts 2013 1

Mr frugalfirstclass exploring his family’s German roots – with just one carry on bag!

My winter packing list comes out as top packing post for the year.  One of my lovely Pinterest followers has taken it on, and it now has a life of its own (it’s been pinned over 250 times to date!)

Winter packing does create its own unique packing dilemmas, so I’m pleased this particular post has been found by so many people.

3.  My generic packing list

This post continues to perform well, cos it works for anyone, anywhere, to any destination.

4.  My interview with Travel Fashion Girl’s Alex Jimenez

This post just goes to show that showing generosity to someone else really does create its own rewards.

frugalfirstclasstravel was featured on a list of packing blogs on Alex’s website and I was getting regular traffic from it.  I asked Alex if she’d agree to an interview with me to pay back her generosity.  Little did I know this post would continue to be such a great performer!

Originally from Los Angeles, Alex has been traveling around the world since 2008. 36 countries and 6 continents later, she’s travelled as a tourist, a backpacker, and a vagabond.

Originally from Los Angeles, Alex has been traveling around the world since 2008. 36 countries and 6 continents later, she’s travelled as a tourist, a backpacker, and a vagabond.

5.  Etihad Business Class Review

I’d flown Etihad Business Class a number of times, but never reviewed it.  Unfortunately the trip I had the opportunity to review included the worst experience at a check in or transfer counter I’ve ever had, and the most inedible croissant in the history of mankind.  Shame, as it’s actually a good product.

I have the opportunity to travel Etihad Business Class again in 2014, so stay tuned for my update.

6.  Etihad First Class Review

Etihad First Class ticked a lot of boxes for me – and also for you!

I’ll be updating my review of this lovely product early in 2014, and also stay tuned to my Emirates and Etihad First Class comparison post.

Etihad first class suite here I come! (photo: www.businesstraveller.com)

Etihad first class suite here I come!
(photo: http://www.businesstraveller.com)

7.  Spring packing list for Europe

Spring is the time of year I often travel to Europe, so I’m somewhat of an “expert” in this type of packing.  I’m glad so many of you enjoyed this post.

8.  Virgin Australia International Business Class

I was super-impressed with Virgin Australia’s International Business Class.  A couple of tweaks, and it’s First Class on many other airlines.

9.  Garuda Business Class Review

Garuda Business Class was my travel surprise of 2012, and like my other airline review posts, it has continued to perform well in 2013.  If anyone else has tried it, I’d love to know what you think!

10.  5 common packing mistakes

This is another 2012 post that has continued to perform well in 2013.  We can all learn to pack better (myself included), so I’m not surprised really.  Learning from others’ mistakes is an important way of improving one’s own knowledge!

11.  10 tips to enjoying the Cinque Terre

Our return to Manarola by ferry - more stunning views to end a stunning day!

Our return to Manarola by ferry – more stunning views to end a stunning day!

Normally these lists are top 10s but I’ve gone for 11 posts, so I can include this post on the Cinque Terre.  I wanted to include it because it was a part of the world I loved, and that obviously you did too!

I was particularly proud to be contacted by some local teenagers asking to use some of my photos from this post on a Facebook page they were setting up to support the continued rehabilitation of the Cinque Terre after their recent weather-related disasters – a cause I was delighted to be able to support!

I’ve got your message loud and clear – you love airline reviews, and crave packing lists and advice.  While I’ll continue to write destination pieces and the occasional more reflective piece, stay tuned for more packing and airline advice in 2014.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments on “2013 – my top travel blog posts”

  1. Pretraveller 01/01/2014 at 8:56 pm #

    Jo, thanks for sharing your top posts of 2013. It is really interesting to see what is the most popular.

    My favourite was the article about Cinque Terra – having been there twice before I love the area and you managed to find even more reasons for me to aim to go back there one day!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 02/01/2014 at 8:20 am #

      Thanks Anne. As I said in the post, I really needed to do a top 11 just so I could include that Cinque Terre post

  2. Travelling Book Junkie 01/01/2014 at 9:22 pm #

    Loving the article n Cinque Terra it’s on the list for a visit this year. I have always wanted to go. Happy 2014:)

  3. MaldivesDreamer 01/01/2014 at 10:11 pm #

    Some great posts here, thanks for sharing! Happy New Year and happy traveling in 2014 🙂

  4. Lynne in NC 02/01/2014 at 12:14 am #

    Jo, thank you for this post. It is a reminder of why I enjoy reading your blog — all the great tidbits, tips and tricks of first rate travel.
    Your top posts of 2013 are my favs, too. I especially liked the winter packing list.
    Happy New Year!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 02/01/2014 at 8:22 am #

      And Happy New Year to you too Lynne, and thank you so much for your kind words and support during the year. It is genuinely appreciated.

  5. eemusings 04/01/2014 at 11:28 am #

    Heading over to read the Cinque Terre post now! We ended up bypassing it (though we did hit Amalfi Coast) but I love everything about Italy.

  6. timelessitaly 09/01/2014 at 3:08 am #

    Nice article about the Cinque Terre! I need to get back….I remember hiking the trail that linked the 5 little villages, the awesome seafood, and gorgeous views. I, too, write about Italy….my passion.

Leave a Reply

