More cats of Istanbul

Hi Frugalistas!  If you’ve been to Istanbul or have read my, or others’ blog posts, you know that cats rule.  They are everywhere.  Shopkeepers look after them, people feed them, and tourists pat and photograph them.

When I was on my Culinary Backstreets food tour of Istanbul, my guide Senem and I discussed the cats of Istanbul.  I was fascinated to learn that the cats and their care is based on Islamic principles.  The prophet Mohammed was apparently very fond of cats, and kept them as pets.  In a traditional Islamic home many people consider it inappropriate to keep pets – the home is also a place of prayer, and cannot be “dirtied” by the presence of animals.  Hence cats in the streets.  Hence very well tended and cared for cats in the streets.

For me, there is no such thing as too many cats, so enjoy!

Where are your favorite cats in your travels?

Tags: , , , ,

4 Comments on “More cats of Istanbul”

  1. Karisa 06/06/2014 at 9:56 am #

    Aw, they’re so cute! I love cats ❤

  2. Cindy Heazlit 06/06/2014 at 5:23 pm #

    Best post ever! The Greeks love their cats too. But I don’t see any ginger kitties.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 06/06/2014 at 7:11 pm #

      Very few Cindy. A lot of white with tabby trim, and white with ginger trim, but not many straight gingers.

Leave a Reply

