The Athens meat and fish market

Hi Frugalistas! Armed with my new camera, and some wonderful photos from Athens I’m bringing Friday fotos back for a new series.  First up, the Athens meat and fish market.  A word of warning though – the meat market is very, well, meaty.  A far cry from shopping in your local supermarket.  So if you don’t like meat up close and personal, you may prefer to save Friday fotos for next week.  But carnivores – enjoy!

Author’s note:  I was a guest of Culinary Backstreets when I visited the Athens meat and fish markets.  Stay tuned for more photos, as well as my report on the excellent walk I enjoyed.

Tags: , , , ,

9 Comments on “The Athens meat and fish market”

  1. Geek Goddess 07/11/2014 at 5:44 am #

    The whole ‘eat the fish, guts and all” thing is just a step past my usually adventurous taste buds. I ate white bait in Greenwich, and was able to stand it because of the excellent pulled cask ales. 🙂

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 07/11/2014 at 6:24 am #

      What we ate later on for lunch were tiny little things – impossible to clean, but some people did cut the heads off!

  2. wisemonkeysabroad 07/11/2014 at 7:02 am #

    Markets are really fascinating places! You can learn so much about the culture of a place by not only looking at the produce themselves, but how the vendors and buyers interact – it is the perfect place to people watch sometimes 🙂
    Thank you for sharing!

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 07/11/2014 at 8:31 pm #

      The butchers in the meat market were very animated – especially the one selling the testicles!

  3. Vlad 07/11/2014 at 11:19 pm #

    I love visiting markets when I travel, the ones in Budapest and Barcelona are my favorites, all those colors and smells, it was quite wonderful! Looking forward seeing more pictures. 🙂

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 08/11/2014 at 8:31 am #

      Yes, La Boqueria in Barcelona is probably my favorite market of all. I loved this one because it reminded me very much of a market I used to go to with my grandfather as a child – so many memories!

  4. Pamela 09/11/2014 at 5:24 pm #

    Love visiting food markets too, but though I’m not vegetarian, I tend to stay away from the meat areas. A bit too much meat and too confronting. My favourites are the fruit and veggies – and the cheeses. Also love the spices. Particularly the spice market in Istanbul. Also love the big market building in central Budapest – all the amazing spicy sausages on the ground floor and the beautiful craft things, specially the embroidery, on the first floor.

    Remember years ago in Spain (either in Madrid or Barcelona, don’t remember) buying lovely fruits and salad things. People were shopping for garlic by the kilo – huge bags full. I just wanted one head of it at a little garlic stall. They were surprised I only wanted the one – and insisted on giving it to us for free. Best wishes, Pamela

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 09/11/2014 at 5:33 pm #

      Next weeks Friday fotos is right up your alley Pamela – fruit and vegetables, and……bunches of heads of garlic!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How You Can Go to Europe for Less | frugalfirstclasstravel - 10/03/2015

    […] prices cheaper but they are also a great way to manage your portions.  Go to markets, like the Athens Meat and Fish Market, and grocery stores for easy breakfast items and for snacks that you can make into light meals for […]

Leave a Reply

