The end of an era for frugalfirstclasstravel

Hi Frugalistas!  Well, it’s the end of an era.  After three years and 200+ posts, I’m moving frugalfirstclasstravel onto a brand new platform.  This will be the last post on my old WordPress platform with my old theme (if all goes to plan).  It’s served me well, and I’m going to miss it, but it’s time to move on.

What is changing at frugalfirstclasstravel?

Well, the first thing you’ll notice on the new frugalfirstclasstravel is the bright new theme.  I’ve liked this current theme.  So much so, I’ve had it for over two years now.  It’s served me well, but like everything, fashions change.  So it’s time to move to a new, clean, mobile friendly theme.

The new theme will be easy to navigate and find what you are looking for.  It’s not quite finished yet, but I’m enjoying putting it together.  I’m sure there will be teething problems, but I also know that in the long run I’ll come to love it, and I hope you will too.

Along with my new look, I’m working on a new branding.  frugalfirstclasstravel will continue to be frugalfirstclasstravel, but my brand and what I think is important will be more prominent.  Readers who follow me on Facebook have already had a sneak peak of the new branding.  Let me know what you think!!

frugal, first class travel

A sneak peak at my new branding

What is NOT changing on frugalfirstclasstravel?

All the content on the current frugalfirstclasstravel site will be moving with me onto the new platform and new theme.  You don’t have to worry about “losing” that favourite post.

sunset on Phuket, travel, frugal, first class

The sun sets on an era…

Whether you subscribe by email or by WordPress you will still have your posts from frugalfirstclasstravel delivered to your inbox or WordPress reader, just the same as normal.  You’ll still be able to comment on and like my posts, the same as you always have.  For fellow bloggers I’ve installed the fabulous Comment Luv plug in, so you can get some link juice and follow love by commenting on frugalfirstclasstravel.

frugal first class travel butcher outside a butchers shop in Istanbul

Just one of the beautiful faces of Istanbul

Most importantly, frugalfirstclasstravel will continue to bring you the best in travel planning, itineraries, packing lists and destinations.  There’ll be more airline reviews, more fabulous food and more real life travel for real people.  Europe will continue to be my focus because I know that’s what you love.  I hope you will be inspired, your thinking will be challenged, and that you will spend less and travel more.

frugal first class travel Eiffel tower in background with cherub statues from Pont Alexandre III in foreground

The Eiffel Tower from Pont Alexandre III

But guess where I’m off to next?  My first ever Canadian adventure starts in April!  In keeping with the European theme I’ll be partnering with Quebec Tourisme to bring the frugalfirstclasstravel view of Canada with a French accent.

Change can be a little daunting – particularly when it’s a computer change, and like me you are a bit technologically challenged.  But I’m excited about the changes to my blog, and the opportunities that I know it will bring.

I hope you’ll join me on the ride, and enjoy the experience!  I know I will……..

 

Tags: , ,

15 Comments on “The end of an era for frugalfirstclasstravel”

  1. Anne Sutherland-Smith 08/03/2015 at 7:04 pm #

    Jo, all the best with the new theme and setup – I am looking forward to the big reveal!

  2. simaroseblossom 08/03/2015 at 8:38 pm #

    good luck on upgrading your brand! I look forward to seeing it develop.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 10/03/2015 at 5:45 pm #

      Thank you. I think it will look quite plain to start with but it will be a work in progress

      • simaroseblossom 11/03/2015 at 6:25 pm #

        Well blogging is always evolving. What I talk about, my style, and of course the design and my promotion.

  3. Carolyn 08/03/2015 at 9:11 pm #

    Congrats Jo, looking forward to the new theme. Must be something about we Europhiles – I’ve been using those same words – dream, plan, travel (Europe) – as a slogan for a while now. They definitely resonate with my readers too.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 10/03/2015 at 5:44 pm #

      I hope they will resonate with mine Carolyn. I’ve been mulling over options since TBEX and this is what said what I wanted to say best (I think! )

  4. Bethaney - Flashpacker Family 09/03/2015 at 1:47 pm #

    Sounds like a great plan Jo. Look forward to seeing the new site and hearing about your adventures in Quebec.

  5. fotoeins 10/03/2015 at 10:30 am #

    Good luck with the changeover, Jo!

  6. The Guy 11/03/2015 at 5:05 am #

    Best of luck with the change Jo, this is all very exciting. I hope it goes smoothly. I know when I changed themes about a year and a half ago I had a few teething problems for a few days. It was all very stressful at the time since I was trying to do it alone.

    Thankfully it all worked out well in the end and I’m glad for the change.

    • frugalfirstclasstravel 12/03/2015 at 7:23 pm #

      Thanks Guy. I am anticipating stress, but am finding the support from my host, readers, and other bloggers really positive – thanks for adding to the positive vibe!

  7. holidayaddict 11/03/2015 at 9:21 am #

    So exciting! Moving from Blogger to self hosted WordPress was the best thing I did – and I’m definitely technically challenged when it comes to computers (I drafted in help)! But I haven’t looked back – in fact I’m planning a revamp soon. Can’t wait for your big reveal!

  8. Lady Light Travel 11/03/2015 at 4:18 pm #

    I hope your transition goes as smooth as silk. I’m looking forward to more wonderful posts!

Leave a Reply

